Baltic airspace will be guarded by the Air Forces of four countries


Since September 1st, the airspace of Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia for four months will be policed by the Air Forces of four countries: Portugal, Canada, Germany and the Netherlands.

Lithuanian Ministry of Defense reported that today, August 26th, at the Lithuanian air base in Šiauliai, four fighters F-18 “Hornet”  of Royal Canadian Air Force were landed. According to DELFI, it is the first case in the history of the Baltic countries, when the Canadian Air Force will patrol their airspace.

It is also reported that the Portuguese F-16 fighter jets, will land at the Air Force Base in šiauliai on August 29th. This will be the second time for the Portuguese Air Force in carrying out the mission of policing the Baltic airspace. The Canadian and the Portuguese Air Forces will replace on September the British and Polish Air Forces and will join in their mission to the German and the Netherlanders Air Forces that will be based in Poland.

We will remind that due to the Russian – Ukrainian crisis, NATO decided at the beginning of the year to strengthen the mission of the defense of the airspace of the Baltic countries.

Aleksejus Podpruginas
Aleksejus Podpruginas is The Baltic Review author based in Israel

Russian sanctions will inflict a severe blow to the economy of Lithuania

Previous article

The highest bridge in Lithuania will be constructed in Alytus

Next article


Comments are closed.

You may also like

More in Baltics