Speaker of Riigikogu Eiki Nestor declared the Village of the Year 2015 title recipient at the Estonian Villages 9th Assembly this weekend, reports LETA, referring to the Riigikogu Press Office.

The title of the Village of the Year went to the Leedri Village on the island of Saaremaa, in the Lääne-Saare parish.

The Estonian Diet, or the Provincial Assembly of Villages is a major event for the Estonian Villages Movement Kodukant (Homestead), a kind of a Parliament of villages, held once in every two years in a different county since 1996.